Orlando, Florida – Christos Argiriou was elected the new President of AHEPA Canada at the conclusion of the annual AHEPA Family Supreme Convention at The Walt Disney World Yacht and Beach Club in Orlando, Florida on July 29, 2017. He will represent Canada on the Supreme Lodge of the AHEPA and serves as the chief spokesman for AHEPA in Canada. He succeeds Vassilios (Bill) Bakalis at the helm of the Canadian Order of AHEPA and will work closely with the newly‐elected Supreme President of AHEPA Carl R. Hollister. He also represents AHEPA in the Metropolitan Council of the Greek Orthodox Church in Canada.

Christos Argiriou is a respected business man who is based in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Born in Kerkini near Serres, the province of Macedonia in Greece, he immigrated at an early age to Canada to join his siblings in Toronto. He begun his career in real estate sales in Toronto and subsequently moved to Winnipeg where he engaged in the restaurant business and real estate development and management in Western Canada.

Christos joined the Winnipeg Chapter of AHEPA in 1992. In 2014 he was elected President of the Polikos Aster AHEPA Chapter of Winnipeg where he tripled the membership. In May 2015 he was elected Lieutenant Governor of the Royal Canadian AHEPA District 24 and in May 2016 was elected Governor of District 24 which encompasses the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, what constitutes Western Canada.

“I am humbled by the responsibility entrusted upon me to lead the oldest and largest grassroots heritage volunteer organization of the Greek Diaspora in Canada” Christos said at his installation ceremony. “Thank you for the trust and confidence that you have bestowed in me and I will strive to meet and exceed the expectations of this high office” he concluded.

Present during the installation were Past Canadian President Ken Matziorinis who invested Christos with the jewels of his office, Past Canadian President and Chairman of the AHEPA Board of Trustees Nick Aroutzidis, Past Canadian President Anthony Mavromaras, District 23 Governor Emmanuel Constas, District 23 Lieutenant Governor Anastasios Moussas, Byron Yankou, James Hutchison and Haritos Aroutzidis.